EY advises on Crowd Mobile | Track Holdings deal

18 June 2015 Consultancy.uk 2 min. read

Crowd Mobile, a global m-commerce and mobile entertainment company, has acquired Track Holdings, a Netherlands-based content distribution network with operations in 38 countries. The fee of the deal is reported to be around A$26.7 million.

With operations in 16 countries, Crowd Mobile is one of the largest networks that allows consumers to crowd source answers to their much-needed questions and pay a small fee for each answer received*.


In line with its ambition to extend its global footprint, Crowd Mobile has bought Netherlands-based Track Holdings, a mobile content and m-payment provider with exposure to over 1.4 billion consumers worldwide. The company is present through the infrastructure of over 140 mobile operators, with key markets in Europe and Latin America. The firm generated revenue of A$24.5 million and EBITDA of A$13 million in 2014. Track Concepts also has a technology platform that acquires, retains and manages customers while its Global Content Distribution provides mobile content, entertainment and apps to millions of consumers worldwide.

“This is a game changing acquisition for Crowd Mobile. The strategic benefits we see form the deal are significant”, comments Domenic Carosa, CEO of Crowd Mobile. By the joining of forces, the Australians will gain access to new territories and products, as well as a new suite of content that complements its existing offerings. Together the firms will create “one of the leading global platforms in the high growth mobile payments industry” says Carosa.

EY transaction Advisory Services provided lead advisory services to Track Holdings. The deal team was led by Kees Slump and supported by Ron van Oeveren and Lauren van Dijk. Legal advisory was provided by Dutch law firm Houthoff Buruma, with Michiel Pannekoek and Daphne van Boxtel the key team memebers.

Kees Slump - Ron van Oeveren - Lauren van Dijk - Michiel Pannekoek - Daphne van Boxtel

The transaction is expected to be completed by August 2015 and will be funded by a combination of equity, debt and convertible note.

* Australia, New Zealand, UK, Ireland, France, Germany, Austria, Belgium, Portugal, Spain, The Netherlands, Switzerland, Italy, Turkey, Poland and Norway.