Oxera adds two academic experts to Economics Council

22 October 2014 Consultancy.uk 2 min. read
More news on

Economics consulting firm Oxera has recently appointed two new members to its Oxera Economics Council: Amelia Fletcher and Volker Nocke.

The so-called ‘Oxera Economics Council’ was launched in 2008 by research and consultancy firm Oxera, with the objective of “stretching the boundaries of economic thinking”. The Council currently consists of 11 members, who meet twice a year with Oxera and key policymakers to discuss the economic aspects of a broad range of issues. Previous topics discussed by the Council include: FRAND pricing obligations; competition in pharmaceuticals; state aid; behavioural economics and remedies; reform of EU energy and banking sectors; unilateral effects modelling, and the economics of margin squeeze in a competition law and regulatory context.

Oxera Economics Council

Driven by a strong demand for expertise on the German market and the financial services industry, the Council has earlier this month decided to bolster the team with two new members. Amelia Fletcher, who is Professor of Competition Policy at the ESRC Centre for Competition Policy and Non-Executive Director at the Financial Conduct Authority, will contribute to risk regulation discussions in financial services. Volker Nocke, a Professor of Economics at the University of Mannheim, will serve as the key expert for the German market.

“Amelia and Volker are outstanding and highly regarded academics with lots of practical and policy experience as well. They add depth in two areas where Oxera is growing particularly strongly, namely financial services and Germany,” says Oxera Partner Gunnar Niels.

An overview of the other members of the Oxera Economics Council:
- Sir John Vickers, Chair (All Souls College, Oxford)
- Walter Beckert (Birkbeck College, University of London)
- Estelle Cantillon (Université libre de Bruxelles)
- Eric van Damme (Tilburg University)
- Natalia Fabra (Universidad Carlos III de Madrid)
- Jordi Gual (Caixa d'Estalvis i Pensions de Barcelona and IESE Business School, Barcelona)
- Bruno Jullien (Toulouse School of Economics)
- Patrick Legros (Université libre de Bruxelles)
- Carl Christian von Weizsäcker (Max Planck Institute for Research on Collective Goods, Bonn)